Outstanding Officer Award

The "Outstanding Officer Award" is presented annually by the National Association of County Collectors, Treasurers and Finance Officers (NACCTFO), an affiliate of the National Association of Counties (NACo), to a person who has been an active member of NACCTFO for at least two years and who serves as a leader in their home state and as a professional of the highest caliber in the operation of their own county office.

During the time period from 1965 to 1968, this award was known as the "Distinguished Service Award," and was bestowed upon a worthy County Collector, Treasurer or Finance Officer who exemplified characteristics of leadership and professionalism. In 2017, the award was renamed to the "Outstanding Officer Award." A "Distinguished Panel of Judges" who are not affiliated with NACCTFO nor known to the organization, selects the winner. The award is presented at the NACCTFO Installation Banquet at the annual NACo/NACCTFO Conference each July. The nomination application is limited to no more than 1,000 words and no more than five (5) individual attachment items, including letters of recommendation and/or other recognition forms. Non-compliant entries will be returned un-judged.

Past Honorees

2023 Anne Gannon Palm Beach County Tax Collector West Palm Beach, Florida
2022 Rhonda Skipper Walton County Tax Collector Defuniak Springs, Florida
2021  Debbi Roberts-McGinnis Polk County Collector of Revenue Bolivar, MO
2020   Award Not Presented (COVID)  
2019 Ken Parrish Kent County Treasurer Grand Rapids, MI
2018 Doug Lasher Clark County Treasurer Vancouver, WA
2017 Linda Kizzire Sedgwick County Treasurer Wichita, Kansas
2016 Michael G. Diskin Essex County Treasurer Elizabethtown, New York
2015 Doris Maloy Leon County Tax Collector Tallahassee, Florida
2014 Stephen H. Holt Jasper County Collector of Revenue Carthage, Missouri
2013   Award Not Presented  
2012 Pat Lensmeyer Boone County Collector of Revenue Columbia, Missouri
2011 Eileen King Riley County Treasurer Manhattan, Kansas
2010 Charles Jones Bell County Treasurer Belton, Texas
2009 Mark Altom Davis County Treasurer Farmington, Utah
2008 Barbara Ford-Coates Sarasota County Tax Collector Sarasota, Florida
2007 Bob Patterson Shelby County Trustee Memphis, Tennessee
2006 Chris Hughes Okaloosa County Tax Collector Ft. Walton Beach, Florida
2005 Dennis Hollingsworth St. Johns County Tax Collector St. Augustine, Florida
2004 Judy Ann Miller Pottawatomie County Treasurer Council Bluffs, Iowa
2004 Kim Reynolds Clarke County Treasurer Osceola, Iowa
2003 Nancy Krumwiede Ford County Treasurer Paxton, Illinois
2002 Sharon A. Winchell Cass County Treasurer Atlantic, Iowa
2001 Nancy Weeks Haskell County Treasurer Sublette, Kansas
2000 Bob Knowler Woodbury County Treasurer Sioux City, Iowa
1999 Ray Valdes Seminole County Tax Collector Sanford, Florida
1998 Helen Schatz Burleigh County Treasurer Bismarck, North Dakota
1998 Don Merz Sonoma County Treasurer Santa Rosa, California
1997 Jon Chafin Leon County Tax Collector Tallahassee, Florida
1996 Alfred Anderson Roanoke County Treasurer Roanoke, Virginia
1996 Jim Kennedy Yuba County Treasurer Marysville, California
1995 Mary "Dubbie" Buckler Marion County Treasurer Indianapolis, Indiana
1994   Award Not Presented  
1993 Hobson Strain Polk County Tax Collector Bartow, Florida
1992 Douglas R. Aurand Winnebago County Treasurer Rockford, Illinois
1991 Glen O. Stapley Maricopa County Treasurer Phoenix, Arizona
1990 Sharon Shipley El Paso County Treasurer Colorado Springs, Colorado
1989 Arthur L. Monson Salt Lake County Treasurer Salt Lake City, Utah
1988 Helen L. Hill Adams County Treasurer Brighton, Colorado
1987   Award Not Presented  
1986 Lynwood Roberts Duval County Tax Collector Jacksonville, Florida
1986 Jerome Bentz Brown County Treasurer New Ulm, Minnesota
1985 Helen R. Walker Victoria County Treasurer Victoria, Texas
1984 Maude Hawkins Wise County Treasurer Wise, Virginia
1983 Matt L. Bell III Escambia County Tax Collector Pensacola, Florida
1983 Dorothy Vogt Arapaho County Treasurer Littleton, Colorado
1983 Marg Alt Grand County Treasurer Hot Sulfur Springs, Colorado
1982 Bill Melton Dallas County Treasurer Dallas, Texas
1982 Linda Rhea Summit County Treasurer Breckenridge, Colorado
1982 Corleen Foust Graham County Treasurer Robbinsville, North Carolina
1981 Bill Van Rensselar County Treasurer Troy, New York
1980 Margorie Johasson Ada County Treasurer Boise, Idaho
1979 J. Grant Keys Lorain County Treasurer Elyria, Ohio
1978 Connie E. Hunter Bingham County Treasurer Blackfoot, Idaho
1977 Donald E. Couch Jefferson County Treasurer Golden, Colorado
1976 William J. Feldmeir Maricopa County Treasurer Phoenix, Arizona
1975 Mark B. Schwartz Walworth County Treasurer Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1974 Oren L. Brady Jr. Spartenburg County Treasurer Spartenburg, South Carolina
1973 Virgil Swartzlander Sandusky County Treasurer Fremont, Ohio
1972 Curtis Ezelle Hardee County Tax Collector Wauchula, Florida
1971 Victor E. Martinelli Tuscarawas County Treasurer New Philadelphia, Ohio
1970 Warren G. Harding Dallas County Treasurer Dallas, Texas
1969 Eva M. Cook Klamath County Treasurer Klamath Falls, Oregon
1968 Stella H. Spencer Guilford County Treasurer Greensboro, North Carolina
1967 Joe Torrence Davidson County Finance Director Nashville, Tennessee
1966 Gregory Esposito Oneida County Treasurer Oneida, New York
1965 Frank Brennan Cuyahoga County Treasurer Cleveland, Ohio