September 20, 2021     Register   Login  
About NACCTFOOutstanding Officer Award     
Quick Links
Outstanding Officer Award
The "Outstanding Officer Award" is presented annually by the National Association of County Collectors, Treasurers and Finance Officers (NACCTFO), an affiliate of the National Association of Counties (NACo), to a person who has been an active member of NACCTFO for at least two years and who serves as a leader in their home state and as a professional of the highest caliber in the operation of their own County office.
During the time period from 1965 to 1968 this award was known as the "Distinguished Service Award," and was bestowed upon a worthy County Collector, Treasurer or Finance Officer who exemplified characteristics of leadership and professionalism. After the 1968 recipient Stella H. Spencer, the award was renamed in her honor. Until 1971, the award was known as the "Stella H. Spencer Distinguished Service Award". After the 1971 honoree Victor E. Martinelli, the award was again renamed in his honor. Since 1972, the award has been presented annually as the "Victor E. Martinelli Outstanding Treasurer Award." In 2017, the award was renamed to the "Outstanding Officer Award."
A "Distinguished Panel of Judges" who are not affiliated with NACCTFO nor known to the organization, selects the winner. The award is presented at the NACCTFO Installation Banquet at the annual NACo Conference each July. The nomination application is limited to no more than 1,000 words and no more than five (5) individual attachment items, including letters of recommendation and/or other recognition forms. Non-compliant entries will be returned un-judged.


Nomination Information
Generally, the nomination should include a resume of the nominee's local office development, improvements in cash management and other related programs, NACCTFO activities and involvement, and civic, community, and family involvements and activities.
Please include the name of the nominee, title, address, telephone #, website address, name of nominator, address and telephone.
Nominations must be received no later than 90 days prior to the Annual Award Banquet or April 14, 2021. Please call within one week and verify delivery of the nomination.
Call 816-858-3355 or email if you have any questions.
The Nomination Form (pdf) should be mailed to:
Sheila Palmer
Platte County Collector of Revenue
415 3rd Street, Room 212
Platte City, MO 64079
Past Honorees
 YearSorted By Year In Descending OrderRecipientTitleCity State
2019Ken ParrishKent County TreasurerGrand Rapids, MI
2018Doug LasherClark County TreasurerVancouver, WA
2017Linda KizzireSedgwick County TreasurerWichita, Kansas
2016Michael G. DiskinEssex County TreasurerElizabethtown, New York
2015Doris MaloyLeon County Tax CollectorTallahassee, Florida
2014Stephen H. HoltJasper County Collector of RevenueCarthage, Missouri
2013 Award Not Presented 
2012Pat LensmeyerBoone County Collector of RevenueColumbia, Missouri
2011Eileen KingRiley County TreasurerManhattan, Kansas
2010Charles JonesBell County TreasurerBelton, Texas
2009Mark AltomDavis County TreasurerFarmington, Utah
2008Barbara Ford-CoatesSarasota County Tax CollectorSarasota, Florida
2007Bob PattersonShelby County TrusteeMemphis, Tennessee
2006Chris HughesOkaloosa County Tax CollectorFt. Walton Beach, Florida
2005Dennis HollingsworthSt. Johns County Tax CollectorSt. Augustine, Florida
2004Judy Ann MillerPottawatomie County TreasurerCouncil Bluffs, Iowa
2004Kim ReynoldsClarke County TreasurerOsceola, Iowa
2003Nancy KrumwiedeFord County TreasurerPaxton, Illinois
2002Sharon A. WinchellCass County TreasurerAtlantic, Iowa
2001Nancy WeeksHaskell County TreasurerSublette, Kansas
2000Bob KnowlerWoodbury County TreasurerSioux City, Iowa
1999Ray ValdesSeminole County Tax CollectorSanford, Florida
1998Helen SchatzBurleigh County TreasurerBismarck, North Dakota
1998Don MerzSonoma County TreasurerSanta Rosa, California
1997Jon ChafinLeon County Tax CollectorTallahassee, Florida
1996Alfred AndersonRoanoke County TreasurerRoanoke, Virginia
1996Jim KennedyYuba County TreasurerMarysville, California
1995Mary "Dubbie" BucklerMarion County TreasurerIndianapolis, Indiana
1994 Award Not Presented 
1993Hobson StrainPolk County Tax CollectorBartow, Florida
1992Douglas R. AurandWinnebago County TreasurerRockford, Illinois
1991Glen O. StapleyMaricopa County TreasurerPhoenix, Arizona
1990Sharon ShipleyEl Paso County TreasurerColorado Springs, Colorado
1989Arthur L. MonsonSalt Lake County TreasurerSalt Lake City, Utah
1988Helen L. HillAdams County TreasurerBrighton, Colorado
1987 Award Not Presented 
1986Lynwood RobertsDuval County Tax CollectorJacksonville, Florida
1986Jerome BentzBrown County TreasurerNew Ulm, Minnesota
1985Helen R. WalkerVictoria County TreasurerVictoria, Texas
1984Maude HawkinsWise County TreasurerWise, Virginia
1983Matt L. Bell IIIEscambia County Tax CollectorPensacola, Florida
1983Dorothy VogtArapaho County TreasurerLittleton, Colorado
1983Marg AltGrand County TreasurerHot Sulfur Springs, Colorado
1982Bill MeltonDallas County TreasurerDallas, Texas
1982Linda RheaSummit County TreasurerBreckenridge, Colorado
1982Corleen FoustGraham County TreasurerRobbinsville, North Carolina
1981Bill VanRensselar County TreasurerTroy, New York
1980Margorie JohassonAda County TreasurerBoise, Idaho
1979J. Grant KeysLorain County TreasurerElyria, Ohio
1978Connie E. HunterBingham County TreasurerBlackfoot, Idaho
1977Donald E. CouchJefferson County TreasurerGolden, Colorado
1976William J. FeldmeirMaricopa County TreasurerPhoenix, Arizona
1975Mark B. SchwartzWalworth County TreasurerElkhorn, Wisconsin
1974Oren L. Brady Jr.Spartenburg County TreasurerSpartenburg, South Carolina
1973Virgil SwartzlanderSandusky County TreasurerFremont, Ohio
1972Curtis EzelleHardee County Tax CollectorWauchula, Florida
1971Victor E. MartinelliTuscarawas County TreasurerNew Philadelphia, Ohio
1970Warren G. HardingDallas County TreasurerDallas, Texas
1969Eva M. CookKlamath County TreasurerKlamath Falls, Oregon
1968Stella H. SpencerGuilford County TreasurerGreensboro, North Carolina
1967Joe TorrenceDavidson County Finance DirectorNashville, Tennessee
1966Gregory EspositoOneida County TreasurerOneida, New York
1965Frank BrennanCuyahoga County TreasurerCleveland, Ohio
 Copyright 2007-2021 by NACCTFO  Terms Of Use Privacy Statement